In the beginning…

There is little as crippling to me as a blank page. Something about all the potential of the things I could say and thinking I can’t possibly make the most of it freezes me in my tracks. And in the context of a blog, where when you finish writing one thing there’s just another and then another to be written, well, those feelings multiply exponentially.

But here we are. PJ and I have both had separate ideas for our own blogs for awhile now, and over a late Summer ride in PJ’s Jeep (which makes him the cool one, me the jealous one) we decided it’d be easier on us both if we co-authored one blog. This blog.

It’s been fun getting ready to kick this thing off – planning what to write, working out how we’d hold each other accountable to contribute frequently, deciding on a title – but now that I’m sitting down to write I’m finding those same anxious feelings creeping back in.

But I’m reminded and encouraged by a passage from The Lord of the Rings. The protagonist, Frodo, is essentially explaining his own anxiety about starting something new, in his case a great journey. He reflects on something a good friend once told him:

“He used often to say there was only one Road; that it was like a great river: it’s springs were at every doorstep and every path was it’s tributary. ‘It’s a dangerous business, Frodo, going out of your door,’ he used to say. ‘You step into the Road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there is no telling where you might be swept off to.’

If you’ve read the books or seen the movies, you know that Frodo doesn’t exactly keep his feet. He gets swept off into a wonderful but dangerous adventure and only barely makes it home again (whoops, spoiler alert?). I doubt I have to worry about life-threatening danger as the result of this blog. But I don’t have any idea where it’ll take me. Or PJ. Or you, whoever you are. But I hope you’ll join us on the journey, and I hope that God blesses you through us.

Cheers,
D

Leave a Reply

