Leaving Your Mark

I recently listened to a leadership podcast by Andy Stanley on ‘Leaving your Mark’ in life.  I think all people have a desire to leave some kind of mark in life.  In fact whether we want to or not we are all going to leave a mark.   When we move on from this life to the next we will be known for something here on earth.  Even the person who does not invest in a single soul is leaving a mark.   Everyone, whether good or bad, leaves some kind of mark.

I admit that I have a strong desire to leave a mark.  I want to invest in others, be a part of the gospel ministry, speak truth, to have conviction.  I want to leave a mark and be known for some of those things.  Andy Stanley made a statement and asked a question in his podcast that cut to the heart for me.  He says “Our mark isn’t worth our life.  Living to make my mark is too small a thing to give my whole life too.  But to be positioned in a way that God can make his mark through me is totally worth me giving my life too!” and he proceeded to ask this question, “The daily question needs to be, who’s mark is it going to be?”

After listening to the podcast, I was reading in Acts 2 and saw this convicting truth in Luke’s writings.  “Men of Israel, listen to this: Jesus of Nazareth was a men accredited by God to you by miracles, wonders, and signs, which God did among you through him as you yourselves know.” Acts 2:23

Jesus lived in a way that allowed God to leave his mark through him.  Jesus was all about the fathers will being done through his life!

I want to leave a mark.  But, I also want to live in obedience to God and submissiveness to the Holy Spirit, that makes me more like Christ, and naturally allows God to leave his mark through me! I wonder how different our lives would look if we were not consumed with our own plans and leaving the mark we want to leave, but instead allowed God to do miracles, wonders, and signs among our generation through us?  How different would the world look?

“The daily question needs to be, who’s mark is it going to be?” Andy Stanley

 

PJ

One response to “Leaving Your Mark

  • April

    I like this, PJ. Great reminder that when we’re looking inward, we are so small, but when we’re looking upward, He is able to do abundantly more (Eph. 3:20).

Leave a Reply

