How Long Will You Waver?

“Then Elijah stood in front of them and said, “How much longer will you waver, hobbling between two opinions? If the Lord is God, follow him! But if Baal is God, then follow him!…” 1 Kings 18:21

For the past couple of days I have been preparing to speak this Sunday morning at church.   We are currently in a series titled “The Days of Elijah” and the passage I am preaching through is 1 Kings 18:16-40.  In this passage we see Elijah stepping foot into a culture that had been deceived into worshiping false gods.  In other words they were putting their trust, hope, and security into things that only the one true God can provide.  Idolatry was a serious problem.

As I have been reading through this passage studying and preparing I have been convicted by Elijah’s words to the Israelites, “How much longer will you waver?” I think Elijah would probably ask the same question to those of us in our culture and that includes myself.   We may not worship the false god Baal as they did in 1 Kings 18.  However, we all have our own false gods that we worship daily and put our trust in more than we do the one true God.  For some of us its money, materialism, sex, love, approval, time, work, business, sports, hobbies, children and possibly even our spouses.

We want God in our lives, we want the blessings God can provide, the problem is we don’t want to give him our all.  God doesn’t want us to waver, he wants us to give him our all (Exodus 20:2-5, Matthew 10:39, Matthew 22:37).

How long will you waver?

 

PJ

One response to “How Long Will You Waver?

  • Niki Z.

    Let me just tell you, this has been a struggle for me. It’s easy to give God the things that I don’t want to control- my test grades, finances, car maintenance, etc. It gets a little more difficult when it comes to matters that I’m afraid of- the future or relationships.
    That verse has been very convicting to me this week, and I pray that He keeps pushing me to give Him everything.

Leave a Reply

