I Wish I Was More Like My Dog (and I’m Glad God Isn’t At All Like Me)

Yesterday April got home from work to find that we’d absentmindedly left our dog Samson inside all day. (I thought she was going to let him out, she thought I was, yadda yadda yadda.) She also found a delightfully odorous present that he’d left on the living room rug.

The great thing about Samson – and all dogs, really – is that they don’t hold grudges. Not against people, and not even against themselves. Sam’s a great dog, well-behaved and obedient, and he’d never make a mess in the house unless he had no other option (which he didn’t). He was bothered by what he’d done: he paced around and was hesitant around us for awhile. But by last night, all was forgotten. He was his old self again, nuzzling us for attention while we sat on the couch, waiting hopefully in kitchen while we cooked dinner.

I wish I was more like Samson. For me, one of the biggest obstacles to God’s grace is my inability to forgive myself. When I screw up I beat myself up over it for days, weeks, or longer. That does bad things to my relationship with Christ. I start to question how he could love me when I’m so rebellious and selfish and distracted from his love. Then I get caught in a self-destructive loop of feeling bad about what I’ve done, losing faith in God’s grace, screwing up more because “I might as well, I’m a lost cause”, and then feeling bad all over again. I’ve said it before: I think loving yourself is among the biggest steps you can take toward loving and being loved by God.

The me-as-Samson metaphor breaks down eventually, as most metaphors do, because in this situation the role of God would be played by me. And I’m nothing like God. I couldn’t help but get a little frustrated by Samson even though I knew it wasn’t his fault. (He didn’t get in trouble, by the way, just to clarify.) And I’ll make some changes to make sure another similar incident doesn’t happen again. God, though, is infinitely patient with us, and he does more than forgive our sins. He forgets them, as if they never happened. He is also steadfast and unchanging. He will treat us with the same grace and love and expectations tomorrow that he did yesterday.

I’m working on loving myself more, so that I can experience God’s love more fully. And among a multitude of other things, I’m thankful that he is a loving father rather than an obedience instructor (or impatient owner). I wish I was more like my dog, but I’m glad God’s nothing like me.

(Yep, I just got a message of grace and self-love out of a story about the dog pooping in the house. I think I’ll just sit back and wait on that book deal now.)

5 responses to “I Wish I Was More Like My Dog (and I’m Glad God Isn’t At All Like Me)

  • ChaseK8

    Good post I enjoyed reading it, I think we all need to be more like your dog!! 🙂

  • April

    This is exactly why we have a (new) policy in the Wingfield home: there are no I’m sorries. Bc we all mess up and it doesn’t really matter anyway. For us (and this won’t work for everyone!) apologizing over things like this just leads to guilt. There. Now you all know that BOTH of us struggle with forgiveness!

  • pjnoland

    I have always told others if we look hard enough we can find God in just about anything. : ) Nice Post D.

  • Dawn-Marie Coggins

    This is a great post! I adore my dog, Kodi, and you are very right–we can learn so much by the innocence of animals. I have a card from Dr. Wayne Dyer that says: “The loving, innocent world of animals serves as a good example for me. The more you stop to observe animals and learn from them, the more healthy and peaceful your life will be”

Leave a Reply

