Weekly Confession: I need to be more thankful

Last week a student pastor friend of mine wrote on his blog about thankfulness. He pointed out that, in his letters, the Apostle Paul always mentioned how thankful he was.

Romans 1:8 – “I thank my God…”
1 Corinthians 1:4 – “I thank my God…”
2 Corinthians 1:3 – “Blessed be God…”
Ephesians 1:16 – “I don’t stop giving thanks…”
Philippians 1:3 – “I thank my God…”
Colossians 1:3 – “We give thanks to God…”
1 Thessalonians 1:2 – “We give thanks…”
2 Thessalonians 1:3 – “We ought to always give thanks…”
1 Timothy 1:12 – “I thank Christ Jesus…”
2 Timothy 1:3 – “I thank God…”
Philemon 1:4 – “I thank my God…”

As I read through all the instances where Paul made sure to express thanks, I was challenged to be more thankful.  I don’t thank God as much as I should.  I ask more than I thank.  I have a lot to thank God for. I have a beautiful wife, a healthy marriage, a great church family, a roof over my head, authentic friendships, and a loving God who is drawing me closer to himself every day.

The challenge is to be thankful not just during thanksgiving, but, every day of my life.   There is a connection to our thankfulness and the way we experience God in our lives.  We all need to be consistently more thankful.

This Thanksgiving I am going to thank God and ask him to help me be more thankful for all he is doing in my life.  Sounds a like a simple start to me.

Have a blessed Thanksgiving and give plenty of thanks.

PJ

Leave a Reply

