Confession: I Often Live In Survival Mode

I didn’t get around to posting a weekly confession last week. So, I’m going to make up for it this week.

This past Monday evening I began reading a book titled Sun Stand Still by Steven Furtick.  The main idea of the book is “What Happens When You Dare To Ask God For The Impossible”.  The title, Sun Stand Still, comes from Joshua 10.  Joshua prayed for the Lord to make the sun stand still over Gibeon and the sun stood still, the moon stopped till the nation avenged itself on it’s enemies (Joshua 10:12-13). Regardless of how the sun stood still that day, the bible makes it clear that the day was prolonged by a miracle, and that God’s intervention turned the tide of battle for his people.

Furtick writes in his book that he surrendered his life to ministry while reading a line from page 23 of Fresh Wind Fresh Fire by Jim Cymbala. The quote from Cymbala’s book reads “I despaired at the thought that my life might slip by without seeing God show himself mightily on our behalf.” Furtick refers to this as Page 23 vision.

Sun Stand Still has already been stepping all over my toes.  But, this morning I read a line from the book that really knocked the breath out of me.

Furtick writes “The opposite of Page 23 Vision: Survival Mode.”

I don’t say this boastfully, but, I believe God has blessed me with his vision for my life, he has shown me my calling, and his hand is on me.  He has shown me his Page 23 vision for my life.

My problem is, even though I know my Page 23 vision, I often live in survival mode.

Many who know me may say I am being too hard on myself. But I don’t want to live in survival mode. I want to not only know my page 23 vision, but pray boldly and believe God to make the vision come to pass in my life time.

I don’t want to just go through the motions!

I want to live out page 23 vision and watch the sun stand still in my life.

I want to conquer lingering sin in my life. I want to watch God help Lauren and I reach financial goals. I want to see our marriage strengthened by the power of God. I want to raise godly children, that one day serve God in their generation. I want to trust God to supply us with resources to meet needs in peoples lives. I want to lead mission trips where people experience the love and work of Christ. I want to pray boldly for God to do far more than I can imagine in my life! Want to see the impossible become possible through the power of God!

I don’t want to live in survival mode. I want to live beyond the ordinary. I want to live page 23 vision. I want to watch the Sun Stand Still over my life.

PJ

2 responses to “Confession: I Often Live In Survival Mode

  • April

    What an awesome post! Thank you for putting this out there, PJ. If you don’t know God’s vision for your life, ASK FOR IT. When he has been gracious enough to show it to you, shame on you if you hesitate.

    Shame on me. I hesitate every day.

    God is so faithful to show the obedient and the persistent His will. It is no small thing when he presents this to us and we are obligated to show Him respect and carry out the work He gave us to do.

    • Sarah

      GREAT post! And great reply April. Just like we talked about yesterday – if you know He called you to it, WHAT are you waiting on? Why do we get paralyzed? Why are we fearful? Why do just survive instead of thrive? If He called us to it…if we have His page 23 vision for our lives, don’t you KNOW He’s going to bless it!?! Jeremiah 29:11 promises that!! His plans are to prosper us & give us a future!!

      Yes, we are blessed immeasurably to KNOW His vision for our lives. Father God, help me to move in BOLD FAITH in the direction you’ve called me. Father, I want to glorify you! Help me to get out of my own way so that can be a beautiful vessel for you & your kingdom!

Leave a Reply

