I Will Boast In The Lord

…Let him who boasts boast in the Lord.” 1 Corinthians 1:31

I’m hesitant to write and share this post.  Why?  Because I don’t want to come off as arrogant, proud, or boastful.  But, just a few Sundays ago I preached a message at Oasis Church on thankfulness.  And one of my sermon points was to express thanks to others about what God has done in your life.   With that said, I turned 25 years old on January 6 and as I reflected on my life, I realized that I have much to boast about in the Lord.  The Lord has been good to me and I am thankful for it.

The Lord has blessed with me with parents who support the calling God has placed on my life.

The Lord has blessed  me with a beautiful, encouraging, grace filled wife, and best friend.  Lauren, thank you for loving me.

The Lord has blessed me with a pretty awesome gig at Oasis Church.  I get to minister to students, invest in people, help people move closer to God, communicate God’s word with others, and get to be around some of the most authentic people I have ever met.

In 25 years God placed  people and mentors in my life that play or played a significant role in helping me become the person, husband, friend, leader, and son of God I am today.

The Lord has blessed me with friends in my life that challenge me, hold me accountable, encourage me to dream big, and help me reach personals.  The Lord has blessed me with friends that extend grace when I am wrong and pat me on the back when I succeed.  The Lord has blessed me with friends who help Lauren and I talk through decisions and adversity in our lives.  I am blessed with godly friends.

The Lord has blessed  me with the abundant life he promised in John 10:10.  He has never left me without (Matthew 6:25-34).  He has shown himself faithful.  He has fathered me, guided me, called me, corrected me, and unconditionally loved me.

Lord, you have been good and will continue to be good.  Lord, thank you for the blessings you have poured out on me.  Thank you for the people you have placed in my life.  Lord, you deserve all the glory and credit.  Nothing is possible with out you.  Everything is possible through you.  Lord, thank you for 25 years of life.  Give me the strength, vision, wisdom, and discernment to follow you in the days, months, and years to come.

“God, my shepherd! I don’t need a thing.You have bedded me down in lush meadows, you find me quiet pools to drink from. True to your word, you let me catch my breath and send me in the right direction. Even when the way goes through Death Valley, I’m not afraid when you walk at my side. Your trusty shepherd’s crook makes me feel secure. You serve me a six-course dinner right in front of my enemies. You revive my drooping head; my cup brims with blessing.Your beauty and love chase after me every day of my life.” Psalm 23 – The Message

PJ

One response to “I Will Boast In The Lord

  • fireball3316

    i think it is good to boast in the Lord… to boast of His goodness and greatness – because you’re reminding your mind and your soul WHO God is and of His greatness and goodness… david in his psalms often tells himself to remember the works of God and that stirs faith and trust and worship in his life again. in psalm 78 we read about teh ephrainites who FORGOT about who God was and about His power and His Word and His ways and though dressed for battle they turned back and ran. i want to be someone who REMEMBERS God and His ways!

Leave a Reply

