Confession: I’m Impatient

This week I’ve found myself struggling with impatience.  I would normally say that I’m a pretty patient guy.  However, when I think about me being a patient guy, I can see that I’m only patient when things are operating on my time line.  Which means, I’m not really patient, but controlling.  I’ll save the discussion of my control issues for a later post.

For a couple of hours here and there this week, I have been preparing to deliver the message to our congregation at Oasis Church this coming Sunday morning.  This has been kind of a difficult sermon to prepare.  Why? Because the goal of my sermon and key thoughts have been slow to come to mind.  When my thoughts for a sermon are slow to come together, I start to get impatient.  I have learned that when I find myself stuck in a rut while preparing a message, the best thing to do is walk away for a while and wait on the Lord.

Did you notice the last four words in the previous paragraph?  Wait on the Lord.  I don’t like to wait.  But the reality is, if were going to experience the abundance God has for us, were probably going to have to wait.  The enemy loves for us to get impatient, because when we get impatient we settle for less.  And anytime you and I settle for less, we miss out on the abundance God has for us.

The truth is, the answer your looking for, the job your hoping to get, the spouse your praying God would bring to you, the children you hope to raise, or whatever you may be waiting on, may be just around the corner.  Don’t get impatient and settle for less.  Wait on the Lord, for he is good, his love endures forever, and he is faithful even when we are faithless.

“I waited patiently for the Lord, he turned to me and heard my cry…” Psalm 40:1

 

PJ

Leave a Reply

