Uncle Gene

Last week my moms uncle (my great uncle) Gene passed away at the age of 81.  Uncle Gene was survived by his wife of 56 years, had 4 children, 13 grand children, and 15 great grand children.  He served in the U.S. Navy for seven years and worked for the Dallas Morning News for 27 years.  I was never real close to uncle Gene.  But, from the time uncle Gene gave me a copy of the movie Roger Rabbit, being joined to the same church family for a little while, and the other times I was able to be around him, uncle Gene always left me with a positive impression of who he was as a man.

I will always remember Gene for his authenticity, his firm handshake, and always having an encouraging smile on his face.  The thing I will remember most about Gene, was his steadiness in his character.  Gene was always the same person.  He didn’t seem to waver.  Scripture says the Lord is the same yesterday, today, and forever (Heb. 13:8). In other words, the Lord is steady, consistent, and does not waver in who he is.  With that said, scripture says that as the Holy Spirit works in our lives, we are to become more and more like Christ.  We should become steady in who we are in him.  For me, Gene left a legacy of being steady in who he was as a man and a follower of Jesus Christ.

What legacy are you and I going to leave?  What are people going to remember us for?

 

PJ

 

Leave a Reply

