A New New Year (or, Why Tuesdays Are a Bummer)

I’ve read that diets that start on Mondays are doomed to fail. Start dieting on Monday and subconsciously you associate the diet’s lifespan with the days of the week. Friday comes, your focus drifts to the weekend and relaxation, and your commitment to eating right wanes in direct correlation to your work ethic.

I’ve also heard people claim Tuesdays are the worst day of the week you’re dieting (the same goes for trying to form any good habit, I’d wager). Monday’s are easy: you’ve had Saturday and Sunday to rest and psyche yourself up for the week, and you can do almost anything for one day. But by the second day, Tuesday, things are routine again. It’s hard to sustain Monday-morning energy, and you know after today you’ve still got three more whole days ’til another weekend comes around.

I’ve experienced the same thing on a little bigger scale this month. At the start of the new year, I made a whole slew of resolutions: to exercise consistently, build more and deeper relationships with people, save more money, and so on. Things went well for the first week or so. I was off work still, so I had all day with which to work out, plan meals, make phone calls and send emails, and meditate on my goals. Then came week two, and frankly I’ve been struggling ever since to stay committed to my resolutions.

So I declared this week my New New Year. I’m putting the last three weeks behind me and approaching this one with fresh eyes, heart, strength, and spirit. And this time, I’ve added one more resolution to my list: to revisit my list of resolutions every week. So far it feels great.

This whole exercise, really, is one of showing myself grace. The truth is that Tuesdays are no harder than Mondays. Neither is February more challenging than January. We only make it so when we dwell in the past or obsess over the future. When we’re saved, God neither remembers our past sins nor suffers us to rest on our past accomplishments. He asks only that we live for him today.

Forget the past. Whether you worked out yesterday or not, saved a few bucks or overspent, read your Bible or didn’t, it doesn’t matter. Do it today.

Do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble. (Matthew 6:34)

Leave a Reply

