Refreshed

Are people Refreshed when they are around you?

This is a pretty important question for you and I to honestly answer.  Do people find themselves refreshed after they have spent time with you?  Do people look forward to being around you because they know you are refreshing to be with?

I started thinking about this question the other day while I was reading in Romans 15.  In Romans 15, Paul is telling the Roman  believers about his plans to visit them.  In verse 32 Paul says “so that by God’s will I may come to you with joy and be refreshed in your company. “

Apparently there was something about these believers that was refreshing.  Paul looked forward to being with them.  He knew it would be a refreshing experience.

As followers of Christ, people should be refreshed when they are around you.  And they should walk away feeling like their was something different about you.  Why? Because Jesus Christ lives in you.  And the Holy Spirit is working in and through you to make you more like Jesus Christ.  People were refreshed around Jesus.

Not sure your refreshing to be around?  Here are a few habits to becoming more refreshing.

Be a good listener. I stink at this.  Too many times I find myself drifting off and thinking about other things when people are trying to communicate with me.  Refreshing people give those they are talking too their full attention.  They  do their best to genuinely care and listen to what others have to say.   Again, I am bad at this.  I have got to work on it. “…let every person be quick to hear, slow to speak…” James 1:19 ESV

Find opportunities to encourage. 1 Thes. 5:11 teaches that as believers we should encourage one another.  So, do it.  It refreshes people.  There are opportunities around you all the time to encourage.  One of my goals this year has been to encourage at least one person every day.  I often find myself feeling refreshed after trying to be refreshing to them.

Be less about you and more about others. Refreshing people are all about other people.   When you bless those around you, you will find yourself blessed.  Serve people. Love people. Listen to people.  Let them know you appreciate them.

If you are a follower of Christ, you should be refreshing to be around.  If your not, it may be time to look in the mirror and ask the Holy Spirit to show you what changes need to be made.

Be refreshing.

PJ

One response to “Refreshed

  • April

    Great post! I know I have to check myself sometimes, when I’m having a stressful day, that I don’t let my stress infect other people. You’re right about the blessings you get from refreshing others – when I’m able to get outside of myself enough to encourage or help someone else, my stress is easier to manage.

Leave a Reply

