If You Don’t You Won’t

This is a post about prayer.  Another post about prayer?  Yes, we have posted a lot about prayer here at NGYNW.

For the past several months I have felt the Lord tugging on me about my prayer life.  It needs to be stronger.  It needs to go to new heights.  I have read books, listened to  sermons, read blogs, and have talked with others about prayer quite a bit recently.  I currently attend a small group at Oasis Church that is dealing directly with prayer.  We meet on Wednesdays at 11:45…you should come check it out.  The point is, prayer is a discipline I am trying to get stronger at in this season of my life.

Today in group we discussed the importance of having a Pattern of Prayer. This thought came from our study titled Too Busy Not To Pray by Bill Hybels. Great book by the way!

I have gone back and forth over the last few years about having a prayer plan, routine, or pattern. I have been against it at times due to fear of not having room for spontaneity in my prayer life.  Then I have been for it when I lacked discipline to pray.  I have come to a point where I have realized if I don’t have a pattern for prayer in my life, then I won’t pray.  If I don’t I won’t.

I think the same is true for you.  If you don’t you won’t.

There is obviously a fine line here.  There is a line of not becoming rigid, empty, and routine in our prayer lives.   This chokes the life out.   Then there is the line of becoming so lax in our prayer lives that we just pray aimlessly.   We go nowhere.   You and I need a pattern of prayer in our lives.  If we don’t we won’t.

The beautiful part of this is that God has wired us all differently.  Everyones pattern is going to look a little different.  Some pray late at night, some early in the morning, and some all through out the day.  Some journal.  Some speak. Some whisper.  Some bow.   The point is that we make prayer a priority in our lives.  That we make it a regular part of our days.  If we don’t we won’t.

God is a heavenly father in heaven waiting eagerly to hear from his children!  He is ready to do exceedingly, abundantly more than we could ever imagine.  As Bill Hybels says “we must pray regularly, privately, sincerely, and specifically.”

Do you have a pattern?  Do you have a time when you go to your own quiet place to spend time with your heavenly father?  You need a pattern.

If you don’t you won’t.

PJ

Leave a Reply

