NGYN’s Greatest Hits: Predictable Resistance

“22 “And now, compelled by the Spirit, I am going to Jerusalem, not knowing what will happen to me there. 23 I only know that in every city the Holy Spirit warns me that prison and hardships are facing me. 24 However, I consider my life worth nothing to me; my only aim is to finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me—the task of testifying to the good news of God’s grace.”  Acts 20:22-24 NIV

A couple of days ago I began listening to a series of sermons delivered by Craig Groeschel.  The series is titled Chazown.  Chazown is the hebrew word for vision, purpose, or revelation of or from God.  God has a chazown for each and everyone of our lives.  We all have a choiceto live according to our own pleasures and desires, which will ultimately lead to a withering life.  Or we can choose to seek out and live God’s chazown for our lives.

The apostle Paul chose to run after Gods chazown for his life.  One of the great things about Paul was that he was a straight shooter.  He didn’t hold back any punches.  In the verses above from Acts 20:22-24, Paul tells us he was compelled by the Holy Spirit to go.  And go is obediently what he chose to do.  But Paul also shares with us that when we follow Gods chazown and go, we face predictable resistance.  Paul said “I am compelled to go…I only know that in every city the Holy Spirit warns me that prison and hardships are facing me.”  In other words, Paul says, I know which direction God wants me to go in this season of my life, but I also know that there will be plenty of bumps in the road.

When  you and I embrace and obediently GO for God’s chazown in our lives, we will face predictable resistance.

Trying to get out of debt so that you can honor God financially?  Expect resistance.

Trying to move closer to God to hear his voice in your life? Expect unexpected noise from other circumstances.

Trying to pursue God’s chazown for your marriage?  Expect resistance.

Trying to save up an emergency savings for the rainy days of life?  Expect something to break.

Starting to make sense?  I hope so.

Don’t give up!   Notice what Paul said after he admitted there would be hardships in pursuing God’s chazown. “…My only aim is to finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me…”

When the resistance resists, reset your aim, press on, and complete the task the Lord Jesus has set before you.  After all, the great stories of God’s power all through out scripture are filled with predictable resistance.

Don’t cower when resistance rises.  Fight back.  And fight for the chazown God has for you.

PJ

Leave a Reply

