Change The Scenery

“Sometimes it’s hard to smell something if you’re surrounded by it everyday.  It’s like coming home after a week’s vacation-when you walk in the door, you recognize an odor that had become so familiar, you had stopped smelling it.  You can’t evaluate something if you stay in the middle of it too long.  You can’t help but miss some things. Things you’ve seen for so long that you just don’t see them anymore. Things that have started to decay and you’ve become accustomed to the smell.” – Andy Stanley

As Derek mentioned on Monday, our wives and we were blessed with the opportunity to spend several days on the beaches of Gulf Shores, Alabama.  We had a great time!  I was ready for a vacation and was very excited to spend some time with my wife and close friends.  However, It wasn’t until I got some time alone on the beach and dove into the scriptures, that I realized how desperately I needed to change the scenery in my personal life, for a few days.  I was in major need of a vacation.

I spent hours of my vacation soaking up God’s word, worshipping, and listening to some of my favorite speakers.  I was able to get away from all of the distractions and get spiritually recharged.  I don’t think this would have happened for me if it weren’t for the change in scenery.  As Andy Stanley basically says above, when you’re around something everyday it’s easy to get used to it.  To take things for granted.  To overlook things that should change in your life.  When you’re around something every day it’s easy to think you need to change things that don’t need to be changed at all.

Occasionally we all need to Change The Scenery in our lives.  

Why?

  • Distractions are removed.  The reality is there are things in our lives that fight for our attention and keep us from giving God our full attention.  When the scenery is changed we are able to tune into God on a deeper level.  When the distractions are taken away the Lord is waiting to refresh us.
  • Honest, self-evaluation can take place.  For the past several months there have been things in my life that I knew I needed to change.  Goals that needed to be set.  And new challenges the Lord would be placing before me.  The only problem was I had not been able to nail those things down.  The change in scenery gave me the breakthrough I needed.
  • What had become familiar becomes new again.   One of the best things a change in scenery can do for you is help you appreciate what you have.  When Lauren and I returned home on Sunday evening, I had a renewed appreciation for our home and all that the Lord has done in our lives.  When I returned to my office on Monday morning, I was grateful to have a place to work and serve the Lord with my talents.  When I returned to the gym on Monday afternoon, I had a fresh drive to work out and be physically fit, so that I can serve the Lord healthily.

I’m not saying that you need to spend your vacation the way I did.  What I am saying is that everyone, from time to time, needs to change the scenery.  Take this time to flip the work switch off and press deeper into the Lord.  He has something he wants to say to you.  A change in scenery may be just what you need to hear it.  Be still and know that he is God.

P.J.
Leave a Reply

