Uncommon: More Humble Than Anyone

 (Now Moses was a very humble man, more humble than anyone else on the face of the earth.) Numbers 12:3 NIV

 As I was vacationing in Gulf Shores a few weeks ago, I felt like the Lord wanted to me begin walking through different passages in scripture that deal directly with the topic of humility.  Numbers 12:1-8 was one of the first passages that my index leads me too.  The words of this passage caught my attention while I read them and continued to draw me back in to read the passage over and over again.   There is much for you and I to sort through in this passage and apply to our lives.

I’m excited to start a new series of posts titled Uncommon that will walk through Numbers 12:1-8.  I don’t know about you, but the humility of Moses inspires me to dream a little.  Dream about what my life could look like if I strived for the humility that Moses displayed.

Moses was uncommon.  But God has not called us to live common lives.  He has called us to live uncommon for his glory and honor.

How uncommon was Moses?

  • Verse 3 tells us that he was more humble than anyone else on the face of the earth.

What was the result of his uncommon humility?

  • A deep relationship with the Lord (Moses and God spoke face to face)
  • Clarity (The Lord spoke to Moses clearly and not in riddles)
  • Vision (Moses saw the form of the Lord)
  • Protection (The Lord stood up for Moses)
  • Resistance from others (Miriam and Aaron began to “talk against” Moses)

When we live out authentic humility, we are uncommon.  The good news is that the Lord starts with common people to live uncommon lives for his purposes.  Humility has very common results for those willing to faithfully and sacrificially live uncommon lives.

Through out the next few posts you and I will walk through these verses and take a look at what God is ready to do in our lives when we are willing to live humble and walk faithfully with him.   Jesus Christ called common guys to uncommonly shake the world around them and begin his church.  The Holy Spirit is eager for his power to overflow from your life and into the world around you when humility is rooted within you.  The Lord is ready to elevate and extend favor to those who are humble.

“But this is the one to whom I will look: He who is humble and contrite in spirit and trembles at my word.” Isaiah 66:3b ESV

P.J.
Leave a Reply

