Mission Trip Take-Away

Last week I lead a team from Oasis Church to Wichita, Kansas to work with Audacity Church.  We canvased neighborhoods with promotional flyers, cleaned parks, hosted park parties, gave out free bottled water, and extended other acts of kindness with no strings attached.  Our team worked hard, with great attitudes, and selflessness every day.  We were all excited about the work we had accomplished.  Not only was great work accomplished, but relationships were deepened.   That’s always a bonus for mission trips.  A  mission team should come back from a mission trip united instead of divided (Just a side note).

At the end of the week I felt like I needed to share a very important mission trip take-away with our team.

God places opportunities around you every day to serve and love others for his purposes. 

Mission trips have a way of getting us fired up for the Lord.  And they should.  However, I have watched a lot of Christians (including myself) come back from mission trips bitter that their mission field isn’t doing exactly what the mission field they just helped with is doing.

I’ve learned that I have two options when I return from a mission trip:

1. I can become bitter towards my mission field and wish I was back where I just came from.

2. I can carry the fire back with me to make a difference on the mission field where God has placed me.

The second option is the better of the two.  God has placed you where you are for a reason.  Make a difference right where you are.  Don’t let the enemy distract you from the opportunities God has put right in front of you.

If you can’t get on board and serve passionately where you are….maybe it’s time for you to make a bold move and get where you can.

But wherever you are keep your eyes open.  God is placing the opportunities right in front of you.

P.J.

 

Leave a Reply

