Falling Off The Bike

This post was inspired by a recent conversation with my good friend Derek Wingfield.  Thanks for sharing your struggles with me and being some one I can share my struggles with. 

Did you ever fall off of your bike as a kid?  

I know I  did.  I still have scars from some pretty bad bicycle accidents growing up.  I may have had more accidents on my bike than most kids because I was constantly trying to find the next best hill to ride my bike down or the largest drop off I could ride my bike off of.  I was a bicycle risk taker.

I remember after many crashes not wanting to get back on my bike.  But usually after an hour of licking my wounds, I realized I needed to get back on my bike and get back to doing my thing.  I needed to get back to being a boy seeking adventure.

I think a lot of times we fall off  of the bike in our lives.  I personally have fallen off the bike a few times lately.

We may go for weeks, months, or years with consistent disciplines in our lives.  But then out of no where something happens that throws us completely off track.

A few examples of falling off the bike in our lives….

Healthy eating habits turn into big bowls of ice cream.

Consistent and meaningful bible studies become inconsistent and pushed off until later.

Routine exercise gets traded in for extra time on the couch.

Wise stewardship of money gives way to instant gratification.

Make sense?

We all have areas in our lives where we fall off the bike.  These are critical moments.  Because when we are off of the bike chances are we are not moving in the direction God is trying to move us.  Get back on the bike and keep peddling into the direction God desires for your life. 

P.J.

Leave a Reply

