Identify Your Wins

Are you the slightest bit competitive?  I think everyone has a bit of a competitive streak deep down inside.  I would say I’m extremely competitive.  I like to win.  I like to succeed.  I like to reach goals.

When people know they are “winning” at something, they feel good about being a part of the cause.  When people know they are losing, the stands tend to clear out.

What’s a win for you as an individual?

What’s a win for your family?

Pastor, what’s a win for your church?  Identify the wins for your people.  Because if you don’t, they will.  And what they call a win, may actually be a loss.  Keep the flock heading in ONE direction. (Just a side note)

I recently had some time to speak to the students (5th – 12th graders) at our church.  I shared with them what the wins are for our student ministry.  I have noticed them clearly setting their sights on the things that help us win.

It’s important that we identify the wins in our lives.  If we know we are winning, then we know we are heading in the right direction.  When our identified wins are not being accomplished, then we know it’s time to sit down and go back to the drawing board.

7  Wins that Lauren and I have identified for our family…

  1. Individually spend time in God’s word daily
  2. Open communication and prayer with one another
  3. Serve one another
  4. Out do one another in showing honor
  5. Attend church together regularly
  6. Give faithfully to our local church
  7. Attend a small group (provided by our local church) regularly
Do we succeed at each of these every day?  Nope.  We’re far from perfect people.  But we STRIVE to win.  Take time to identify the wins in different areas of your life.  It’s a lot easier to stay motivated when you know you’re winning.
P.J.

Leave a comment